Random Lists (books)

by Christi

I have a thing for lists, so you can expect to see a lot of them posted under random  lists (whatever).

Anyway….

Here’s a list of books I’ve purchased recently. The ones I’ve read have my rating beside the Title.

The ones I really wanted to read when I bought them but may never have time to since I’ve started blogging have no rating.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

 Wicked is about the life of  the bad witch in The Wizard Of Oz. The book was published in 1995 and  I recently  found and purchased it in a used book store. I was instantly intrigued by the book’s cover description. I’m just going to have to make time to read this one!

The Dream Maker’s Magic by Sharon Shinn

 I already know this one’s going to be good since I read The Shape-Changer’s Wife by Shinn and loved it.  If this one’s even half as good, it will be excellent.  

The Fabulous Girl’s Guide to Decorum by Kim Izzo and Ceri Marsh

 ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ 

I actually bought this one a long time ago, however, since I loved it so much, I had to share it with you! This gem sparkles with  quality and elegance. The book is filled with excellent advice on etiquette in numerous, various, and sometimes sticky situations. You will get answers to questions you never even knew you wanted to know. Reading it is like the coolest, prettiest, best dressed, smartest, and nicest girl on earth is telling you all her secrets. Although the book’s advice is directed at young women, I wish every body would read this! The book cover looks girly, but I promise you that, if you read this, you will get something practical out of it. I wish every sister, mother, girlfriend, aunt, cousing, niece, and grandmother would not only read the book, but that they would actually follow this advice. It would make my life so much nicer! Here is a taste of the fabulous advice you will find in the book…….

Tailgaiting

There’s a simple rule: Don’t do it. Ever. It is both rude and extremely dangerous. If you are the object of a tailgater, then just ignore it or slow down only to the speed limit; the tailgater will then pass.

Only Joking

Other slights that some people can’t seem to stop making are constant belittling reminders of your past mistakes, like that lemon car you bought on-line or your bad history with men; or they constanlty make fun of your name. After all, they’re only kidding, right?………………If they don’t stop, stop talking to them until they grow up.

What Goes Around Comes Around by Daisy de Villeneuve

☆ ☆  ☆ ☆ ☆ 

Daisy de Villeneuve is an amazing artist plus talented author! She illustrated the book herself and typed it  on a second-hand Olympia typewriter made in 1947! She is to the world of books what Alanis Morisette is to the world of music. The book is worth buying just for the beautiful and colorful illustrations. What amazes me about her art is  the emotions the  facial expressions convey. While reading the book and observing the faces, memories of the painful parts of my teenage years came back to me. Young adults will definitely relate to the characters and older readers will be reminded of the many ups and downs of being a teenager.

“What really bugged me about her was that whenever she was over at my house she would rummage through my medicine cabinet and use all my beauty products. Especially me expensive moisturizing creams that I’d purchased at Fred Segal’s in L.A.”  ~Daisy de Villeneuve 

One Trackback to “Random Lists (books)”

Leave a Reply

